fantasy_review2 star rating

Raging Sea

Stone Circles, Book #2

By Terri Brisbin


Author’s website: http://terribrisbin.com

Brought to you by OBS Reviewer Daniele


Eons ago, seven ancient deities trapped the goddess of chaos under a ring of stones. But now, in the darkest days of the 13th century, Chaela threatens to escape, leaving the fate of all humanity in the hands of two young lovers…

Ran believed herself to be a normal fisherman’s daughter, until a turbulent storm unleashed within her powers she never knew she had. Those powers have drawn her into the battle of two warring factions: the Warriors of Destiny, whom she knows in her heart to be noble, and a menacing army holding her father captive. Her hope for survival is in the hands of Soren, the man she once loved, the man who betrayed her, and the only man she can trust in a raging battle against evil.


Raging Sea is the second book in the Stone Circles series and takes place in 1286 A.D. Scotland, a time when Christianity has firmly taken hold and the ancient gods and goddesses have been cast aside by all but the most secret of followers. Eons before, Chaela, the goddess of fire and chaos, was entombed by her fellow deities, the gods and goddesses of war, healing, earth, water, and beasts, known as the Warriors of Destiny. She waits impatiently for her time to rise again waiting for the right ancestor to free her. Lord Hugh is Chaela’s earthly emissary, and he is desperately searching for the stone circles that are portals through which she may be released. The time has come for the descendants of the Warriors of Destiny to rise for the ultimate battle of good versus evil.

Everyone considers Einar to be simply an old man who has become a bit dotty with age, but he is really a priest of the old gods tasked with carrying on their legacy. Sensing his end is near, he realizes he has waited too long to tell is grandson Soren all that he needs to know and writes what he can in code on a parchment to be given to Soren upon Einar’s death. Strange things begin to happen to Soren, and he discovers that he is from the line of Taranis, a Stormblood able to command the weather. Soren broke Rav’s heart two years ago, and she is dreading coming home after a lengthy time at sea with her father’s fleet. But strange things are happening to her, too, and she finds that she is a Waterblood able to control all water. When her father is kidnapped by Lord Hugh, Rav must turn to Soren for help saving him and keeping Chaela from being unleashed.

I really like the premise of this series with its Scotland setting, and I enjoyed the first book in the series Rising Fire. However, Raging Sea seemed to simply rehash what went on in the first book with new characters. Soren and Rav were likable, and I wanted them to work their personal differences out and live happily ever after, but the truth behind Soren’s betrayal was too slow to emerge, and Rav forgave him too easily before she learned the whole story. I also liked Soren’s friend Father Ander and wish that I had been able to learn more about him. Recurring characters also made appearances, and they did add some much needed variety.

I am confident that others will find Raging Sea to be an enjoyable read, but it just wasn’t for me this time around. I recommend it to fans of dark magic with a good versus evil battle, those who like romance with their fantasy, and those interested in thirteenth century Scotland.

*OBS would like to thank the publisher for supplying a free copy of this title in exchange for an honest review as part of their ongoing blog tour*