Infinite Sacrifice
Infinite Series, Book #1
By L.E. Waters
ISBN# 9780983911111 
Author’s Website:

Brought to you by OBS reviewer Angie


Maya’s shocked to discover it’s not the heaven she imagined;in fact, a life of adventure begins the moment you die.

Zachariah, her faithful spirit guide, explains the rules of the dead: in order to regain complete awareness and reunite with loved ones all souls must review their previous lives.

Maya plunges warily into her turbulent pasts as a sociopathic High Priest in ancient Egypt; an independent mother protecting a dangerous secret in glorious Sparta; an Irish boy kidnapped and enslaved by Vikings; and a doctor’s wife forced to make an ethical stand in plague-ridden England.

All the while, Maya yearns to be with those she cares about most and worries that she hasn’t learned all of heaven’s most vital lessons. Will she be forced to leave the tranquility of heaven to survive yet another painful and tumultuous life? Or worse, accept the bitter reality of having to go back alone? (Amazon)


This was an amazing journey that I literally couldn’t put down. I wasn’t sure about reading a book about Angels and heaven. I’m wary of things that are too “preachy” but this book is probably the furthest thing from that.  I started reading at 9:00 pm and didn’t put the book down til I was finished at 4:00 am.

Maya has arrived at the pearly gates to discover that she’s not anywhere NEAR where she thought she was. She meets her spirit guide who explains to her that she’s got a couple things she needs to do first. Like understand what her lessons to learn have been and truly understand them.

To see the journey of a soul through time and continents was beautiful. Through a series of 4 short stories we discover that Maya’s soul has been a priest, a slave, a mother and a well-to-do wife. Her soul has learned painful lessons on love and sacrifice from every experience and made her who she is now, but is she done? What more could she possibly need to know before reuniting with the ones she loves in eternal bliss? We saw 4 incarnations of her soul and know that there are at least 5 as she is now Maya, but we learn nothing of her life as Maya.

Waters has spent countless hours researching the eras she writes about. The writing was amazing. I was transported throughout the world and had vivid images of the settings of all the stories. I was moved to tears in more than one story. In the end I didn’t feel preached to at all, but I did have a completely different perspective on what the afterlife might be like. I have to read Infinite Devotion (book #2) immediately!