The Rebel of Copper Creek

Copper Creek Cowboys, Book #2

By R.C. Ryan

ISBN# 9781455572267

Author’s Website:

Brought to you by OBS reviewer Jerjen

the-rebel-of-copper-creekThe Rebel Of Copper Creek is the second book in the Copper Creek Cowboys series and it is every bit as good as the first book.  In this book we get to know Griff better and see his story unfold.

Griff has returned from Afghanistan after finding out that the father he never knew he had has been killed.  He has been accepted into the MacKenzie family completely and he is adjusting to being part of a family and all that goes with it.  While in town one night with his brother he meets a fellow veteran, Jimmy, that he knew from Afghanistan.  He tells Griff about a group of disabled  veterans who spend time at a ranch doing riding therapy.  He invites Griff to come and check it out.  When Griff does, he meets the widow Grayson and her two young sons.

Juliet Grayson has had her share of hardship.  She lost her husband, after caring for him when he became disabled.  She is left alone with her two sons on a ranch that she does not know how to care for.  She wants to offer riding therapy to those who are disabled and do whatever she can to help them.  But the ranch is run down and needs a lot of work,  The hydraulic lift she needs to give the therapy is broken.  Most days she does not know how she is going to ever make the farm work and take care of her sons.  Then she meets Griff and her whole life changes.

When Griff meets Juliet’s sons, he sees himself as a child growing up without a father.  He knows what a tough life that is and he finds himself drawn to them and wanting to protect them and make their lives easier.  He is very impressed with their mother too and finds he wants to spend more and more time with them all.  When Juliet begins to get threatening phone calls and unwanted male attention, Griff becomes the family protector.  Juliet is attracted to Griff but she feels she is being unfaithful to her late husband and feels much guilt.

The characters are well rounded, realistic and three dimensional.  Griff and Juliet are people who have tragedy in their past but know they need to fight for what they want.  The two little boys added a lightheartedness to the story that I found refreshing.  The whole MacKenzie family takes care of their own and their neighbors and friends.  I think that this is a realistic portrayal of western towns and I enjoy reading about the close knit group.  It made me want to be a part of their family or friends with them.  The family dynamics make this book such a good read.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very descriptive and it is easy to be pulled into the setting.  I could almost smell the food and hear the hammers pounding and see the beautiful setting.  There is mystery carried on through much of the book concerning who is threatening Juliet and I found myself turning pages as fast as I could to see what would happen next.   There are some twists and turns that will have you guessing and the mystery resolution is very well done.

This book has a little bit of everything: mystery, suspense, romance, humor, family loyalty and hope.  All of these are blended together perfectly.  I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a romance  that offers so much more.  I would suggest reading the first book in the series, The Maverick Of Copper Creek, because you can really get to know the characters so much better.    I am hoping in book three we will find out the identity of Bear MacKenzie’s murderer.  I also hope that we see some romance for the MacKenzie matriarch.  Treat yourself and read this series.

*OBS would like to thank the publisher for supplying a free copy of this title in exchange for an honest review*