Fever Code

The Maze Runner, Book #0.6

By James Dashner

ISBN: 9780553513097

Author’s Website:



Brought to you by OBS reviewer Caro

Synopsis:  The Fever Code

Once there was a world’s end.

The forests burned, the lakes and rivers dried up, and the oceans swelled.

Then came a plague, and fever spread across the globe. Families died, violence reigned, and man killed man.

Next came WICKED, who were looking for an answer. And then they found the perfect boy.

The boy’s name was Thomas, and Thomas built a maze.

Now there are secrets.

There are lies.

And there are loyalties history could never have foreseen.

This is the story of that boy, Thomas, and how he built a maze that only he could tear down.

All will be revealed. (Goodreads)


The Gladers went through heaven and hell during their time in the maze, throughout the Scorch trials, and then as they ventured themselves back to where it all started, the WICKED headquarters. Thomas never fully trusted WICKED after waking up in the maze without his memories and seeing how they treated his friends. All WICKED wanted was a cure, but in the end, there was no cure to be found.

In Kill Order, the readers got to see how it all started. The sun flares hit earth, and in an attempt to reduce the surviving population, to accommodate the resources left in the world, a deadly virus was released with an unexpected effect. The new survivors were divided between infected and immune. And in another attempt of clearing mistakes, WICKED was formed to gather immune subjects in order to find a cure.

In the final book of The Maze Runner series, we get to see how the maze came into existence and how the Gladers were put in it. Teresa was the only survivor from Kill Order, and a special survivor as well. Now in The Fever Code, Teresa meets Thomas, whom she is paired up with to build the maze, and also meets Minho, Newt, Alby and several of the other characters that were seen in the first three books, only younger.

This book is also narrated from Thomas’ perspective, and the reader learns along with him most of the background story that takes place before the events of the Maze Runner. The reader learns how several of the kids were separated from their parents and taken to WICKED in order to prepare them for the maze. We also get to see more of the people that run WICKED and who were the ones Thomas trusted and didn’t before losing his memories.

One thing I didn’t like was that because the story is from Thomas’ perspective, the readers hardly got more information about Aris, Rachel, Teresa, and the other kids. I still wonder what was going through Aris and Teresa’s mind, and Paige’s. I would have liked for someone to mention where they were sending the kids at the end of Death Cure. I did like that we got to know that Newt had a sister, Sonya, and she was one of the few to survive at the end of Death Cure. I also liked knowing more of some of the WICKED characters that made an appearance in this book that we had only slightly known about from emails that appear throughout the other books.

The ending events do make it clearer as to why Thomas wakes up in the maze without his memories, and even though he doesn’t remember what it was like being part of WICKED and their plans, he still feels he can’t fully trust them. Fever Code was a good book to wrap up the series and finally get to know how it all started. The first book caught my attention instantly when it first came out. The story was fresh and new to me. You had a group of kids in a maze who knew nothing of what was going on, and certainly didn’t expect the disaster outside the maze.

I recommend you read the Maze Runner series if you’re looking for a good dystopian series. I do recommend you read the books before watching the movies, they are slightly different. I’m okay with the Maze Runner movie, but prefer the Scorch Trials book to the movie, very different.