4 star rating
Save Me from Myself
Nashville Nights, Book #1
By Stacey Mosteller
Author’s Website:

Brought to you by OBS reviewer Andra


Lyric Hayes spent the first 22 years of her life trying to be the perfect daughter and the perfect girlfriend. After a tragedy and her fiance’s betrayal, she’s running. Starting over far away from the person she used to be.

She’s made herself a vow – no relationships. She’s trying to heal, not complicate her life further.

David Pearson has it all. Confidence, awesome friends, successful business.  But, David’s dealt with loss too. He knows better than anyone not to judge by what’s on the surface.

Drawn to Lyric despite her inability to trust, he’ll do anything to own her heart.

Will secrets and misunderstandings send Lyric running again? Or will David finally save her from herself?


This book grips you from the beginning with the depth of Lyric and David’s characters.  Right at the beginning we read about the betrayal Lyric’s fiancé bestows upon her….carrying on an affair.  The reader gets a glimpse into Lyric’s character by the next line: 

“I don’t know how to explain my reaction to her. I know the normal response to finding your fiancé in bed with another woman is not to calmly walk out and leave, but that’s exactly what happened.” 

I was intrigued as to why she would just leave?  Most women would raise a BIG ruckus.  However, Lyric picks herself up and six months later moves from Manhattan to Nashville in the hopes of starting over.   As soon as she arrives in Nashville, her new roomie, Anna, lets her know that she has arranged for them to go to the “Drench” to meet some of Lyric’s new co-workers for dinner and drinks.  While the idea of meeting future coworkers is fine, Lyric is apprehensive as Anna seems to think it would be a good idea to play match maker with the “hot” bartenders of Drench.

Lyric settles in to her new job as a music reviewer, developing the usual work related friendships, etc. which of course take her back to Drench as this is the office hangout.  As time progresses….David and Lyric begin a relationship; David with his intense dislike of lies and Lyric with her distrust of men due to her ex-fiancés cheating.  But they decide to give this relationship a go and they are SO perfect for each other.

I love the way that technology was embraced in the budding relationship….texting each other…a great venue for allowing Lyric to become bolder and more forthright with what she wants!

After roots have begun to take hold in David and Lyric’s relationship, Lyric must contend with a situation which clearly is uncomfortable.  After becoming friends with SarahBeth (David’s younger sister), Lyric learns a secret and is sworn to secrecy.  Unfortunately, SarahBeth is not beyond blackmail when Lyric finds out about a relationship between SarahBeth and David’s best college buddy Jeremy (one that would be forbidden by the ever protective David).  This of course put’s undue stress on the relationship between Lyric and David and this can only lead to trouble for Lyric!  And it does as she is honor bound to keep SarahBeth’s secret when David confronts her.  AND the only thing that David cannot stand is lies!  What a tangled web they have weaved.  Of course, there is a break up, heart break on both sides but luckily…..our main characters eventually work out the differences and salvage their relationship….at least for the moment.

I liked that the chapters were depicted in the table of contents with titles as opposed to just the usual…. chapter 1, chapter 2, etc.  The titles enhanced my anticipation of what the chapter would hold, for example: “Meeting Him” or “Confrontation” or “Lies Come Out”.

And when David said “Darlin”….I just melted.  I have not said this before BUT if I were to have a book boyfriend….I might just have to choose David!   Last but not least, the character of Anna is great.  She is full of life, adventurous, bold and tells Lyric like it is.  Everyone needs a best friend like Anna. 

There are some interesting co-worker dynamics which enhance the story as opposed to detracting from the main plot (as occasionally they do).  Lyric’s adjustment to the new work location is slow and progresses well, with a few little hiccups.  But her work shines through.

The up and downs of David and Lyric’s relationship are believable.  The storytelling is gripping. All in all an excellent read.  I cannot wait to read the next installment of this series, nor should you!!!

*OBS would like to thank the author for supplying a free copy of this title in exchange for an honest review*