3 Star rating
Across the Line
The Wolf Within, Book #6
By Amy Lee Burgess
ISBN#: 9781616504847
Author’s Website:

Brought to you by OBS reviewer Vanessa

*Beware of possible Spoilers*


Solving problems is her job…even when it may cost her life.

When Councilor Allerton sends Stanzie to investigate a territory dispute between tiny pack Stony Fell and the British branch of much larger Mac Tire, it seems routine until someone sets a bear trap. A young Stony Fell man pays with the loss of his leg and now it’s up to Stanzie and Murphy to figure out who set the trap–and why–before more members of the packs are maimed.

Add a pair of star-crossed lovers, one love triangle, a grief-stricken bond mate with jealousy issues, and bad blood all around and the resultant twisted hell brew reveals the darker side of inter-pack politics that could prove too difficult–and dangerous–for even Stanzie to untangle.


This is the second series I’ve “jumped” into several books in. This is book number Six in the Wolf Within Series and although the writing in this series is well done, overall I felt lost in the story.

I would absolutely recommend reading the previous books in this series before starting this book. Stepping into Across The Line, I was quickly and completely lost. There isn’t any real recap at the beginning, so the story jumps right into what’s going on now. I didn’t understand or fully grasp the character relationships. We were supposed to feel connected and drawn to the characters, mainly Stanzie and her relationship with her bond mate. However, I felt that there didn’t seem to be any real emotional connection. The characters declare their deep love and emotion for each other but I just didn’t feel it. Perhaps that was due to the author’s style or the fact that the history between these two characters is long winded and without the build up of the earlier books, it’s difficult to see the connection.

Another problem I had was that Stanzie wasn’t my favorite person. She seemed weak and unappealing to me. I prefer my heroines to be a bit stronger and it takes a long time for her to show any form of a backbone. As this is the 6th book in the series, I would have assumed as a character she would have come very far from where she first began, but the tone of this book makes it seem as though she is still working out her issues. In her head, she seems confident and in control, but that just didn’t translate through to her actions or demeanor.

On the plus side, the writing is very well done and I do realize that in a series, authors reserve the right to continue the story under the assumption you’ve already read the previous books. On the flip side, many of the other series I have read usually offer a brief recap of where the story is and how it got there. However, I can’t fault an author for jumping right back into the action. I just feel that the story would have been more appealing to a new reader if the author would have allowed a small recap.

There were several (and I mean A LOT) of characters to try to keep up with and remember. I really wanted to be more drawn into this book, but my lack of prior knowledge made it extremely difficult. I spent most of my time trying to sort out and remember who was who, and why so and so didn’t like so and so. This definitely hindered my ability to sit back and enjoy the events as they unfolded.

The confusion aside, it’s clear that the author is very talented and creates a very well developed world full of numerous characters, mystery and pack politics. In the end, I would have preferred a bit more romance and character interactions and less focus on history and buildup. With that said, this book will definitely appeal to Paranormal/Fantasy fans who enjoy a well developed story with a rich history.