A Dark and Twisting Path

A Writer’s Apprentice Mystery #3

By Julia Buckley

ISBN13: 9780425282625

Author website: juliabuckley.com

Brought to you by OBS reviewer Kayt



Writer’s apprentice Lena London is happily working on a new collaboration with her idol and bestselling suspense novelist and friend Camilla Graham, but her joy is short-lived when a dark cloud descends upon the quaint town of Blue Lake, Indiana…

Lena’s best friend, Allison, is in a panic. On a walk in the woods by her home, Allison discovers the body of her mail carrier, an argumentative man who recently had a falling out with Allison’s husband. Lena quickly realizes that Allison has nothing to worry about as the murder weapon points to a different suspect altogether: Lena’s embattled boyfriend, Sam West.

Sam was cleared of his wife’s murder when she was found alive, and now someone is trying to make him look guilty again. Surveillance video of a break-in at his house shows a shadowy figure trying to incriminate him by stealing the weapon from his desk. Lena and Camilla work on a suspect list, but a threatening note and a violent intrusion at Graham House prove that the devious killer has decided to write them into the plot.


I love author Julia Buckley’s “A Writer’s Apprentice Mystery” series. I love the characters; the setting and the way Buckley weaves a tale that pulls me in and never lets me go. A Dark and Twisting Path is the third installment in this wonderful series and it is just as great as the first two. Lena London is a fabulous protagonist and I really enjoy reading about her adventures. She is living the life so many of us would love to have. Collaborating with her hero and bestselling author Camilla Graham is her dream come true. Not only that, but she is living in Camilla’s beautiful home and they have become friends. What a great setting. The wonderful small town of Blue Lake, Indiana does seem to be a hotbed of intrigue though.

Julia has settled into her new life, she has friends, a hotty, and is enjoying her new work. Unfortunately, she keeps falling into mysteries of her own instead of just in her writing suspense novels with her friend and boss. Once again this one has to do with her boyfriend Sam West. He sure can’t catch a break. Lena’s friend Allison finds a body in the woods behind her home and does what anyone would do if they knew Lena. She calls her to help. The body of a not so nice mail carrier being found in Allison’s proximity is probably not a good thing since she had a pretty good argument with him. Sadly, Lena sees the murder weapon and it will lead directly to her man.

Thankfully Sam has video of the weapon being stolen. Between Sam’s ex-leaning on him for comfort since her daughter has been kidnapped, helping to find said daughter and now someone pointing the finger directly at Sam for this murder, Lena and Camilla have their hands full. Intrigue and suspense are sprinkled liberally throughout this entertaining cozy read. The search for the real killer takes the ladies on a ride that is intense and enjoyable. Things get a bit close to home when Camilla’s home has an intruder. Now, what can they all do, except come together and find out who is doing this. Especially when Lena’s father and step-mother are visiting, she cannot let anything happen to her loved ones.

I love author Buckley’s writing style and her storytelling. She is able to bring the reader right into the adventure and keep their attention throughout the book. The characters are well-developed and getting better and better with each installment. The storylines are intriguing and kept me entertained. I love the premise of this series and each book brings the reader further into the enjoyment of it. I can visualize everything through her wonderful descriptive writing. If you enjoy the old-fashioned cozy mysteries, you will love this read and this series as it takes all the best qualities of them and brings a new twist to make them even more exciting. You do not have to read this series in order, but do yourself a favor and read all three. I cannot wait for the next book!

*OBS would like to thank the publisher for supplying a free copy of this title in exchange for an honest review*