Mobile Menu

Powered by Ajaxy
Powered by Ajaxy

TOP 5 SEQUELS THAT ARE BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL

Top 5 Sequels that are Better than the Original brought to you by OBS Staffer Erin 1) Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (sequel to Star Wars: A New Hope) 2) The Dark Knight (sequel to Batman Begins) 3) Resident Evil: Extinction (third in the Resident Evil movie series) 4) … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog , Top 5/10
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

10 MOST RECOGNIZABLE LINES FROM SCI-FI AND FANTASY MOVIES/TV

10 Most Recognizable lines from Sci Fi and Fantasy Movies/TV brought to you by OBS Staffer Erin 1. “May the Force be with you” (Star Wars) 2. “Live long, and prosper” (Spock-Star Trek: The Original Series) 3. “Help me Obi-won Kenobi, you’re my only hope” (Princess Leia, Star Wars: A … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog , Top 5/10
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

OBS TOP 5/10: TOP SCIENCE FICTION MOVIES

Staffer Emily June picks her Top 10 favorite Science Fiction movies: #1 Star Wars #2 Star Trek #3 The Fifth Element #4 The Matrix #5 Terminator #6 X-Men #7 X-Files #8 Alien vs. Predator #9 Spiderman #10 Resident Evil What’s your favorite Sci Fi movie? Tell us here!

Filled under : News Blog , Top 5/10
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

BOOK HOT LINKS FOR JAN. 31ST: CHERIE PRIEST GIVEAWAY, IRISH FANTASY, VAMPIRE EARTH, MARGARET ATWOOD, AND MUCH MORE

Interview & Giveaway: Cherie Priest- Bloodshot via Del Ray “…Steampunk is not her only interest…so it’s not [surprising] that her new book, Bloodshot, takes her into new and fun urban fantasy areas.” Like vampires. Blend of Celtic Myth and Irish History Makes Stina Leicht’s Dark Fantasy Debut Simply Extraordinary via … Continue reading

Filled under : Author News , Book News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

MOVIE NEWS FOR SEPTEMBER 29TH: MORIARTY CAST, STAR WARS IN 3D, PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN, CAPTAIN AMERICA, AND MUCH MORE

Exclusive: We Know Who Is Gonna Play Dr. Moriarty In Sherlock Holmes 2! By El Mayimbe at Latino Review So what’s up with Sherlock Holmes 2? It was just announced that actor Stephen Fry Fry will join the returning Robert Downey Jr. (Holmes) and Jude Law (Watson). Fry will play … Continue reading

Filled under : Movie News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

BOOK NEWS FOR SEPTEMBER 1ST, PART 2: NEAL STEPHENSON & GREG BEAR, SCI FI, STAR WARS, AND MORE

Best-Selling Authors Neal Stephenson and Greg Bear, With Subutai Corporation, Announce The Mongoliad on World’s First Social Book Platform via PR Newswire Bestselling authors Neal Stephenson and Greg Bear, along with Subutai Corporation, announced today the launch of The Mongoliad, the first digital novel on a social book platform. A … Continue reading

Filled under : Book News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

MOVIE NEWS AUGUST 25TH: WALKING DEAD, MISS SCI-FI UNIVERSE, SCI-FI WRAP-UP, THE AVENGERS

‘Walking Dead’ exec slams vampire craze www.digitalspy.co.uk: The Walking Dead showrunner Frank Darabont has slammed the current vampire craze in film and television. He told SFX that he hopes viewers will abandon vampire-based shows for the new zombie drama. “I hope seeing a zombie show as cool as this, seeing … Continue reading

Filled under : Movie News , News Blog
Author : Caro
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

MOVIE NEWS 8/16 UNDERWORLD 3D, TOMORROW – JOSH HARTNETT, PANDORA’S OCEAN AVATAR, HP STILLS & SCI-FI WORLDS THAT HAVE CAPTURED OUR ATTENTION

Seline’s 3-D Battle Heads Back to the ‘Underworld’ in 2012 Continuing a long trend, Sony Screen Gems will once again release an Underworld film in January. Once again starring Kate Beckinsale (in what we’re told will be a smaller role), Underworld 4 will now arrive in theaters on January 20, … Continue reading

Filled under : Movie News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

OBS TOP 5/10: FANBOYS EDITION

Top 5 Movies/TV Shows about Fanboys-Erin 1) Spaced: From the very beginning the characters in this British TV show quote Star Wars and re-enact scenes from their favorite movies. It blends so seamlessly into the plot that sometimes you don’t even realize they’re references. One of the special features is … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog , Top 5/10
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

COMIC BOOK NEWS FOR JUNE 29: FANGIRLS IN STARWARS

FANGIRLS A GROWING FORCE IN STAR WARS EMPIRE Source: newsarama Ashley Eckstein started picking up on it three years ago. The voice of Ahsoka, Anakin Skywalker’s plucky Padawan on Cartoon Network’s hit animated series “Star Wars: The Clone Wars,” Eckstein had just started attending conventions to meet and greet fans, … Continue reading

Filled under : Comic News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet
Tagged on : Comic News , Star Wars

16 SCI-FI SOLDIERS WE SHOULD ALL SALUTE ON MEMORIAL DAY

from Evan Hoovler at Sci Fi Wire With Memorial Day bearing down on us, we thought it the right time to salute those brave sci-fi soldiers who’ve fought so hard for the betterment of the sci-fi universe. And please note—we’re specifically honoring those who served in an organized military, rather … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

STAR WARS NEWS FOR MAY 20TH: STAR WARS WEEKEND AND EMPIRE STRIKES BACK CHARITY SCREENING

Disney’s Hollywood Studios To Kick Off Star Wars Weekends Tomorrow! Source: scifimafia.com LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. – Jedis, Wookiees and Ewoks, Oh My! Once again, the power of the Force and the magic of Disney combine in May and June for Star Wars Weekends, a sci-fi fan-fest inspired by the … Continue reading

Filled under : Movie News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

10 INSANE SCI-FI SPORTS THAT MAKE THE SUPER BOWL LOOK TAME

With the Super Bowl on its way, scifiwire.com has put up a list of futuristic sports. Maybe we’re jaded, but we want football players to wear jetpacks and rocket shoes. Seriously, would it be so hard to re-create the knuckle-whitening thrill of Cyberball, where a team had to make a … Continue reading

Filled under : Movie News , News Blog
Author : Caro
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

THE MOST INFLUENTIAL SCI-FI MOVIE SCORES. OR ARE THEY?

Source: scifiwire Turner Classic Movies this week listed what it calls the 15 most influential film soundtracks, and we’re pleased to see that sci-fi/fantasy scores are well represented, starting with Max Steiner’s score for the original King Kong and culminating in John Williams’ famous score for the first Star Wars. In chronological … Continue reading

Filled under : Movie News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

OBS CASTING COUCH: ‘STAR TREK: TNG’ WITH ‘STAR WARS: EPISODE I-III’ CHARACTERS

To go along with OBS’ Time Travel January we decided to do some funny Science-Fiction cross-over between ‘Star Trek’ and ‘Star Wars’. Let’s see which character from ‘Star Wars: Episode I-III’ could be who in ‘Star Trek: The Next Generation’. ‘The Next Generation’ is set in the 24th century – … Continue reading

Filled under : Casting Couch , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

MOVIE NEWS: JANUARY 20TH

‘Saw VI’ Director Hired for ‘Paranormal Activity 2′ Paramount has hired screenwriter Michael R. Perry and Saw VI director Kevin Greutert to create a sequel to Paranormal Activity in time for an October 22 release. Oren Peli, who dreamed up the first, is on as a producer. He told the … Continue reading

Filled under : Movie News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

MOVIE NEWS FOR DEC. 17: IRON MAN 2 TRAILER, AVATAR INTERVIEW, FAMILY GUY STAR TREK PARODY, AND GOLDEN COMPASS SEQUELS

from Meredith Woerner at i09: First Iron Man 2 Trailer Explodes With Gadgets, Guns And The American Way Check out War Machine, the Iron Man dancers, and all new Tony Stark banter, in the first Iron Man 2 trailer. It seems Tony’s handling his new superhero status with style: partying, … Continue reading

Filled under : Movie News , News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

12 GREAT SCI-FI MOMENTS FROM THE BIG BANG THEORY

via Scott Edelman at Sci Fi Wire The most entertaining sci-fi ensemble on TV today isn’t to be found on Lost or Heroes, but rather on The Big Bang Theory, with its four geniuses who love sci-fi TV, movies, comics and games as much as we do, and the beautiful … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

25 SCI-FI TATTOOS FROM STAR WARS, STAR TREK AND MORE

thanks to scifiwire.com! Twihards aren’t the only fans so hardcore they’d ink a permanent souvenir of their favorite franchise onto their skin. Fans of Star Wars, Star Trek, Serenity and many other sci-fi universes have also shown off their love with tattoos. Check out the 25 extreme fans below who … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog
Author : Caro
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

A VIRTUAL TOUR OF THE UNIVERSE OF SCI-FI

From David Bentley at Coventry Telegraph Would you like to hitchhike to Betelgeuse, stargaze from Vulcan (before it was destroyed in the new Star Trek film, as in the image on the right!) or explore the galaxies far, far away where the Star Wars saga began? Sci-Fi-London teamed up with … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

ROCKET MEN

via Newsweek Six months ago, President Obama asked a team of academics, astronauts, and aerospace executives to give him options for the future of the space program. Those options, as described in the Augustine Committee’s just-released final report, must have sent a little thrill up our Spock-loving nerd in chief’s … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet

COSTUMES OF THE SCI-FI STARS ON DISPLAY AT CALIFORNIA MUSEUM

Thanks to Dixie Reid at the Sacramento Bee Years before he became California’s governor, the jut-jawed and quite muscular Arnold Schwarzenegger played a cyborg on a murderous bent in “The Terminator” (1984). His iconic black leather jacket is part of an exhibition opening Saturday at the California Museum. “Out of … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : 2 Comments

9/30: DYSTOPIAN FUTURES, MYSTICISM, MYTHOPOEIC FANTASY, AND TOP FIVE SCI-FI VEHICLES

We have a good variety of Sci Fi news for you today. Enjoy! from Daniel Supanick at The Retriever Weekly:  Mostow’s Surrogates explores dystopian Sci-Fi future Science fiction has always had a fairly bleak look at robotic technology and its applications. According to most every film made about robots and … Continue reading

Filled under : News Blog
Author : Dawn
Comment Number : No Comment Yet